Wash. state bill to end private firearm sales dangerously close to passing

(EXAMINER)   HB 1588 is the legislation that would end private firearm sales in Washington state. The bill would require all people privately selling firearms to friends or family to pay a $20 fee to have a gun dealer or law enforcement agency process the request with absolutely no guarantee of timely processing either.

Concealed Pistol License (CPL) holders who are exempt from waiting periods when purchasing from a licensed dealer, would now be required to pay the fee and wait as well when conducting a private sale despite going through the extensive FBI check to obtain the CPL in the first place. Defenders of the bill have yet to explain why they think criminals will take firearms down to the police station to pay the transfer fee after stealing or purchasing them from another criminal.

The bill, written by Representatives Jamie Pederson (D), has picked up 36 sponsors including Republican Mike Hope (R) from the 44th district. The bill is scheduled for a hearing in front of the House Judiciary Committee this Wednesday, February 13 at 8 a.m. Four of the bill’s sponsors are currently committee members.

Ironically in an interview with the Seattle Times, Representative Hope admitted to occasionally carrying a gun at the Capitol while also saying he wanted guns banned there. “would love to see it set up just like a courthouse, where we have to go through security in order to get to the chambers,” Hope said.

In light of recent shootings, politicians have been clambering to pass new gun laws despite gun sales being up and gun crime being down for the 5th year in a row according to FBI crime statistics. Even more so, violent crime has been dropping since 2007. Even the head of President Obama’s new gun violence task force Joe Biden admitted that new gun control laws will do almost nothing to stop gun crime, as the statistics show.

The bill is incredibly close to being given a vote to a gun control supporting majority. Two other bills,SB 5625, HB1588’s companion measure, and HB1676, which criminalizes not “properly storing” firearms in specific situations, have also been introduced.

Supporters of the 2nd amendment are urged to contact House Judiciary Committee members and the bill’s sponsors, in opposition of these measures and support the “The Washington State Firearms Freedom Act.”

House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Jamie Pedersen (D-43), Chairman
(360) 786-7826
jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Drew Hansen (D-23), Vice Chairman
(360) 786-7842
drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mike Hope (R-44)
(360) 786-7892
mike.hope@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)
(360) 786-7852
jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve O’Ban (R-28)
(360) 786-7890
steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

Representative Roger Goodman (D-45)
(360) 786-7878
roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Representative Laurie Jinkins (D-27)
(360) 786-7930
laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)
(360) 786-7996
steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)
(360) 786-7882
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828
terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)
(360) 786-7834
tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)
(360) 786-7950
maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)
(360) 786-7984
matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

http://www.examiner.com/article/wash-state-bill-to-end-private-firearm-sales-dangerously-close-to-passing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Show some support!

We are 100% Listener & User supported!! Every little bit helps us continue. Donations help fund the site and keep all the free information on it. Thanks in advance and KEEP UP THE FIGHT!!!

Visitor Map

Subscribe For New Posts & Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to FederalJack and Popeyeradio and you will receive notifications of new posts by email.

News Categories
The Wigner Effect
Col. L Fletcher Prouty: Secret Team